Sri Lanka Rugby hears the call of schoolboys with U-16 championship | Page 2 | Sunday Observer

Sri Lanka Rugby hears the call of schoolboys with U-16 championship

5 February, 2023

With schools rugby looking for improvement and enhancement year after year and having limited success, Sri Lanka Rugby (SLR) has stepped in to give them a hand in the form of an under-16 boys' 10-a-side tournament.

As many as 30 school teams from seven provinces will contest the event organized in collaboration with the Central Province Rugby Football Union (CPRFU) to be played in Pallekele on February 25 and 26.

The big names in schools rugby in Colombo and Kandy will be represented at the two-day event.

President of SLR Rizly Illyas speaking to the Sunday observer said: “First and foremost I thank the sponsors for coming forward to sponsor the competition and this tournament will also be taken as criteria for the selection of players for the Under-18 Sevens at the Youth Commonwealth Games in Trinidad and Tobago later this year.”

Nippon Paint is the title sponsor.

Kavinda Jayasena, the president of the Central Province Rugby Football Union who spearheads the competition's organizing committee, said the tournament marks a new beginning for junior schools rugby after a lapse of three years.

Vice president and Tournament Committee chairman of SLR retired Air Force Group Captain Nalin de Silva said there has to be special emphasis on junior rugby if the country is to look ahead to a bright future.

“Children are the backbone of any nation and sport helps children learn about emotions and feelings in a healthy way,” said De Silva.

The schools set to take part in the tournament are:

Western Province – Isipathana College, Royal College, S. Thomas’ College, St. Peter’s College , St Joseph’s College, Science College, D.S Senanayake College, Zahira College, Wesley College, Mahanama College, Thurstan College, Piliyandala Central College

Central Province – Trinity College, St. Anthony’s College, Kingswood College, Dharmaraja College, St. Sylvester’s College, Sri Sumangala College, Sri Rahula College, Vidyartha College, Sarasavi Uyana MMV, Nugawela Central College, St. Thomas’ College, Matale

Wayamba Province – Maliyadeva College

Southern Province – St. Aloysius College, Richmond College

Sabaragamuwa Province – Kegalle Central College

Uva Province – S. Thomas’ College Bandarawela, Dharmadhutha MMV

North Central Province – Anuradhapura Central College