Cricket promotion in Kandy district | Page 2 | Sunday Observer

Cricket promotion in Kandy district

16 October, 2022

In their endeavour to promote cricket in the Kandy district the Kandy District Cricket Association (KDCA) is doing everything possible to make it grow. With the leadership of Tissa Jayasinghe the committee members are working towards this goal.

They conducted coaching programs at Kolongoda Central and D.B. Wijethunga National School. They also introduced cricket to Ududumbara Secondary School, Kandy Model School, Rangama Vidyalaya, Peradeniya Central and Dharmawickrama Girls’ College.

Programs were conducted at the ground of Vidyartha College, D.B. Wijethunga National School and Wickramabahu National School.

They also had an awareness program for umpires and players where the rules and regulations and playing conditions were addressed. This program was conducted by Upul Sumanasekara, Umpire Educator of the Central Province Cricket Association, at Gampola Wickramabahu Central, Mahanama College, St. Benedict’s College and at the Pallekele International Cricket Stadium.

Material bags were distributed to Kandy CC, Old Rajans SC, Old Trinitians SC, Galagedara CC, Madawala CC, Gampola CC, Saracens CC, Visuvious SC, Kandy Zeylanikans CC, Kandy Bloomfield CC and Prison SC. The rest of the nine clubs will be provided with these bags in the near future.

KDCA also has met the expenses incurred for conducting Division III tournaments comprising; ground fees Rs.6000 x 23 matches (Rs. 138,000) and umpires fees Rs. 7500 x 39 matches (Rs. 292,500).

They have now made all arrangements to begin the President’s trophy tournament and a total number of ten clubs will be in action. The teams are divided into two groups.

Group A comprise University CC, Old Bahuwams SC, Kothmale CC, Madawala United CC, Kandy Doctors CC while Group B comprise University staff CA, Olslaught CC, Kandy Academy CC, Old Rathiyanz CC and Galhinna YSSC.

They also successfully organised the most looked forward to six-a-side tournament where twenty clubs were seen in action. Old Zahirians SC emerged champions and Kandy Youth CC finished as runners-up.

A total number of twenty clubs took part in the Division III tournament. Matches were played from the month of May to October. The matches were played at Lake View, Katugastota and Asgiriya.

The three teams that have qualified for the provincial tournament are Visuvious SC, Gampola CC and Sylverstrian CC.