NCC, Colts, Tamil Union, Moors SC lead the points table | Sunday Observer
SLC Major Club T20:

NCC, Colts, Tamil Union, Moors SC lead the points table

4 June, 2023

NCC, Colts CC, Tamil Union C & AC and Moors SC remain unbeaten and are occupying the top spot in the points table so far after 36 of the 50 matches were completed in the Major Club T20 Cricket Tournament conducted by Sri Lanka Cricket.

There are 22 Major Clubs that are competing in four groups. The preliminary round of the competition will see 50 matches being played while the top four teams of the four groups (A, B, C, D) will compete in the semi-finals.

Two matches will be completed each day at the same venue. First round matches will be concluded on June 6 and the semi-finals will be played on June 9 at the P. Sara Oval and the final will be played at the SSC ground on June 11. Army SC emerged champions last season and Colts CC were the runners-up.

After the tournament the panel of judges will select the best player, best batsman and best bowler of the tournament who will also be presented with cash awards according to SLC.

Upul Tharanga (NCC) is the leading batsman with 190 runs from four matches with one century.

Lahiru Samarakoon (Moors SC) is the leading wicket taker with 12 wickets from four matches.

Today’s matches:

  *Negombo CC vs Galle CC at Maggona

  *NCC vs Police SC at Maggona

  *Army SC vs Panadura SC at P. Sara Oval

  *Chilaw Marians CC vs Air Force SC at P. Sara Oval (YK)