‘The Jungle’: The triumph of the human spirit | Sunday Observer

‘The Jungle’: The triumph of the human spirit

30 July, 2023

The Sinhala adaptation of ‘The Jungle’ will be staged on August 4 and 5 at 3.30 pm and 6.30 pm at the Tower Hall in Colombo.

‘The Jungle’ is an acclaimed original production of Good Chance Theatre, written by Joe Murphy and Joe Robertson, and directed by Stephen Daldry and Justin Martin. The play, an ongoing production premiered in 2017 at the Young Vic Theatre in London which also opened at West End in 2018. The Sinhala adaptation of The Jungle is produced by Magma Entertainment.

It has been translated by Kaushalya Fernando and directed by Chamila Priyanka.


‘The Jungle’ step into a not too distant past as it unravels its captivating narrative set in the vicinity of 2015-2016. The play immerses audiences in the heart of the infamous Calais Jungle refugee camp in France, where diverse individuals from different countries and cultures seek refuge. Through a tapestry of interconnected stories and powerful performances, this thought-provoking journey delves into the lives of these refugees, shedding light on their resilience, dreams, and challenges as they confront the harsh realities of displacement. Witness the triumph of the human spirit as they strive to forge a sense of community amidst adversity.


Chamila Priyanka is an acclaimed writer and director with an impressive track record of critically acclaimed productions. He won the National State Award for Theatre Directing for the play ‘This is not a gun.’ He is a Fulbright scholar who earned his Master of Fine Arts in Theatre Directing from Long Island University, USA while he has obtained his Bachelor of Arts in Political Science from the University of Colombo. He has also served as a Theatre Director for the New Circle Theatre Company in New York during his time in the US.

Cast and crew

In this captivating stage play, the spotlight shines on a stellar cast of award-winning Sri Lankan actors namely Xavier Kanishka, Dulanja Dilshan, Akalanka Prabashwara, Aloka Gayathri and Kumuduni Wickramathanthri. Joining them are a group of passionate aspiring actors, many of whom have already showcased their talents in numerous theater productions. They are Nirishan Bandara, Manushi Tanya, Achini Madagammana, Dilanka Rajapaksha, Rumesh Chamara, Dasun Vimukthi, Rajeew Fernando, Shamila Fernando, Kasun Kalupahana, Anjalee Srimalee, Shan Lakshana, Arosha Dineth, Vishmitha Sapsara, Neelaka Bandara, Charith Senanayaka, Heli Amarakoon, Rishitha Kasun, Sayara Miheli.

Crew members: Isuru Kumarasinghe (Music), Chandana Aluthge and Ranga Kariyawasam (Lighting), Thilina Perera (Sounds), Kasun Rajeewa (Set), Ranga Kariyawasam, and Sudeera Chinthaka (Stage Managers).