Schools rugby league set for blockbustre finish | Sunday Observer

Schools rugby league set for blockbustre finish

13 August, 2023
Ashain Madugaspe (captain- St. Peter’s)-Naveen Kanishka (captain –Isipathana)
Ashain Madugaspe (captain- St. Peter’s)-Naveen Kanishka (captain –Isipathana)

Defending inter school league rugby champions Isipathana College and hot contenders for the title St. Peter’s College will put the icing on the cake when the two schools come out with all their pride and glory to decide who will lift the top prize on offer.

Both schools have two charismatic captains in fly-half Naveen Kanishka of Isipathana and flanker Ashain Madugaspe leading the Peterites.

But the biggest concern could come in the culmination of the match when tempers run high and violent elements among the crowd turn into rowdies creating scenes akin to street violence.

Violence at an Isipathana-Peterite match is not uncommon even though old boys of both schools come out in full force to curb any possible outburst of violence. What has been special about both teams is that they have lived up to expectations as the best two sides at the start of the season and it has been only fitting that they contest the decider giving everybody value for ticket money.

Isipathana won all their matches beating Kingswood (32-08), S. Thomas’ (29-20), St. Joseph’s (28-18), DS Senanayake (22-06), St. Anthony’s (37-26) and Wesley (24-11) while the Peterites beat Royal (11-05), Dharmaraja (34-07), Trinity (22-10), Zahira (56-07), Science College (29-00) and Vidyartha (66-10).

Isipathana College squad: Naveen Kanishka (captain), Senuth Senaratna, Sawinu Arawagoda, Dunila Hansidu, Kenula Mihisara, Lasitha Mapitigama, Shaakib Zumri, Naveed Thahir, Chamath Iroshan, Gesandu Maneth, Nisaja Jayaweera, Shehandu de Costa, Tharindu Eranda, Nimantha Sandeepa, Abdullah Faizer, Chamindu Dilshan, Chamindu Chirath, Shaahid Zumri, Tehan Ranaweera, Methika Devan, Komul Harana, Basitha Chathuranga, Abdul Azeez, Rinesh Silva, Hashen Randimal, Movindu Ransaja, Kalindu Silva

St. Peter’s College squad: Ashain Madugasge (captain), Kushan Tharindu, Vindya de Mel, Sudesh Jayawickrema, Methusara Wishmika, Dineth Ranasinghe, Ranithu Rithmal, Dulaj Navodya, Sadev Gamage, Shenuka Perera, Salith Gallage, Sachin Aruldasa, Aiden Fernando, Emith Jayaweera, Pasindu Thakshila, Pawan Himansa, Dewmin Dilsara, Umeth Shihara, Pevon Perera, Praneeth Silva, Jehan Weerabangsa, Paul Denish, Ashok Mallawarachchi, Zulaiman Riyaz