Kandy Sports Round-up | Sunday Observer

Kandy Sports Round-up

6 August, 2023

Antonians make Kandy proud

St. Anthony’s College have made Kandy proud by becoming the only schools rugby team this season to enter the final round of the inter school league championship.

They are now listed to play against St. Peter’s College on Friday August 11 at Bambalapitiya and in the following week against Royal College at Bogambara on August 19.

Kandy SC name committee

Kandy SC had their 149th AGM last Sunday at the Nittawela club house and named their new committee after finding it difficult to elect a president.

A past stalwart Sarath Perera was compelled to take over and the following were named to serve in the 2023/24 committee.

Patron: R. Page
Trustees: L. Soysa, M Weerasinghe, S Perera
President: Sarath Perera

Vice presidents: L. Wijesuriya, J. Pathirana , A. Nanayakkara

Secretary: S. Liyanage
Treasurer: U. Silva

Trinity basketball champions

In the Central Province under-17 basketball championship Trinity College emerged champions at St. Anthony’s College courts at Katugastota.

The team comprised Tinuka Jamburegoda, Savitha Gunawardena, Lakindu Perera, Sanchitha Wickrama, Thesara Galgodawatta, Adriel Jayasuriya, Sandaru Kularathane, Ravindu Herath, Matheesha de Silva and Lakith Sirimanne.

They were coached by Susil Udukubura (head), Sanith Godagama and Hamza Harish.

The final was a one-sided affair where they beat Gateway College 54-05

Kandy School Girls champs

Kandy Schools Blue hockey side packed with top class players became the champions in the 56th inter district combined school under-20 tournament at Matale.

Trinity in semis

Trinity College under-17 cricketers did well to enter the semifinals of the Division One inter school cricket tournament by beating Rahula College Matara by 61 runs in the quarter finals.

Saracens beat Gampola

Saracens Cricket Club beat Gampola Cricket Club by three wickets in the Kandy District Association Division Three championship.

Gampola CC 161 in 37.4 overs (Dulan Sandaruwan 27 not out, Saranga Weerasekara 23, Thilanka Dasun 3 for 39, Supun Asela 2 for 13, Rajitha Ranatunga 2 for 22)

Saracens CC 164 for 7 in 29 overs (Sunimal Dissanayake 58 not out, Dinesh Abeysekara 26, Krishantha Dilshan 23, Gagana Gunathilake 3 for 39, Saranga Weerasekara 2 for 32)