Girls High School and Kingswood take pride in best at Sri Lanka judo | Sunday Observer

Girls High School and Kingswood take pride in best at Sri Lanka judo

6 August, 2023
Mihini Dassanayake and Nimesh Abeykoon the best
Mihini Dassanayake and Nimesh Abeykoon the best

Mihini Dassanayake of Girls’ High School in Kandy and Nimesh Abeykoon of Kingswood College Kandy emerged the best players in the girls and boys categories at the 24th Sri Lanka Schools Judo Championship held at the Jayathillake indoor stadium, Nawalapitiya last week.

Mihini is coached by veteran and former Sri Lanka exponent Namal Rajasinghe while Nimesh is coached by former Navy stalwart Chandana Vipulaweera.

Jinaraja Balika Vidyalaya, Gampola won the girls’ overall first place with 23 points and Girls High School finished second with 13.5 points. Pushpadana Girls’ College Kandy and Panvilathenna MV tied for girls’ third place. Wickramabahu National School won the boys’ title with a narrow 1.5 margin beating Anuruddha Kumara National School Nawalapitya and Kurunduwattte Royal College won third place.

Over 80 schools from all parts of the country participated in this competition, organized by the Sri Lanka Schools Judo Association.

The competition had a senior division for under-20 school exponents and a junior category for under-16 athletes. Some fast paced and high-quality Judo was seen in both categories, raising hopes for the future of the sport in this country. Sri Lanka has been represented in Judo at the last two Olympics.

The winners: Under 16 Boys -35kg - 1st place AW Hasitha Pabasara (Anuruddha Kumara National School)

* 40kg - 1st place WMK Wijekoon (Anuruddha Kumara National School)
* 45kg - 1st place IH Umesh Nimsara (Buddhist College Gampola
* 50kg - 1st place SS Rajasinghe
* 55kg - 1st place WGI Fernando (Prince of Wales College)
* 60kg - 1st place WHST Fernando (Kurunduwatte Royal College)
* 66kg - 1st place WAAC Wijesinghe (Kurunduwatte Royal College)
* 66kg - 1st place B. WHN Karunathilake (Kingswood College)

Under 16 Girls

* 36kg 1st place TG Hiruni Sansala Gunaratne (Nillamba MV)
* 40kg 1st place HIG Hathurusinghe (Jinaraja BMV)
* 44kg 1st place Kalashi Nimsara Banjanawatte (Jinaraja BMV)
* 48kg 1st place BM Chamodi Vihangi (Welimada Ambagasduwa Royal College)
* 52kg 1st place NGKG Nagoda (Manikkawa KV)
* 57kg 1st place RM Kavisha Nethmini (Welimada Ambagasduwa Royal College)
* 63kg 1st place UDG Dilsara Nethmini (Viharagala National School)
* 63kg 1st place UGKO Perera (Jinaraja BMV)

Under 20 Boys

* 45kg 1st place HGDS Jayasiri (Wickramabahu National School)
* 50kg 1st place GP Hashan Umayanga (Wickramabahu National School)
* 55kg 1st place KBNI Abeykoon (Kingswood College)
* 60kg 1st place SLM Pushpakumara (Wickramabahu National School)
* 66kg 1st place MAA Kalith (DS Senanayake)
* 73kg 1st place MS Arfath (Gampola Muslim College)
* 81kg 1st place KAP Sandaruwan (Kahawaththa MV)
* 81kg 1st place STB Nishanka (Anuruddha Kumara National School)

Under 20 Girls

* 44kg 1st place BGUS Bandara (Wickramabahu National School)
* 48kg 1st place KSK Hansamali (Wickramabahu National School)
* 52kg 1st place IG Roshini Nivarathana (Panvilathenna MV)
* 57kg 1st place KMJS Karunanayake (Pushpadana BV)
* 63kg 1st place Mihini Dassanayake (Kandy Girls’ High School)
* 70kg 1st place DGG Tharushika Deniyage (Jinaraja BMV)
* 78kg 1st place Thanumi Jayarathne (Kandy Girls’ High School)
* 78kg 1st place LHDN de Silva (Kurunduwatte Royal College)

Best athlete boys: Nimesh Abeykoon (Kingswood College Kandy)

Best athlete girls - Mihini Dassanayake (Kandy Girls’ High School)