Teams arrive for Davis Cup in Sri Lanka | Sunday Observer

Teams arrive for Davis Cup in Sri Lanka

23 July, 2023

Eight countries will be featured in the Asia/Oceania Group III Davis Cup tie that will be held in Sri Lanka from July 26 to 29.

The tournament will be played on four clay courts at the Sri Lanka Tennis Association (SLTA) at Sir Marcus Fernando Mawatha over four days.

Three of the teams arrived in Sri Lanka early to acclimatize to the conditions and practise among their team members. The other teams are due to arrive today.

The referee will be from India and other officials will also arrive from Thailand and some other Asian countries to officiate at the tie.

Sri Lanka will field a young but experienced team of six members led by non playing captain Renouk Wijemanne with the other members being Chathurya Nilaweera, Ashen Silva and Thehan Wijemanne who have had experience playing in the Davis Cup.

The other members are Dhilvan Herath and Apna Perera who will be closely watched with the future in mind.

The main aim of the Sri Lanka team is to finish among the top three and secure a spot in group II of the Davis Cup. The top three teams will be promoted to group II while the bottom two teams from Group II will be demoted to group III.

The eight countries from the Asia/Oceania region that will participate are Cambodia, Iran, Malaysia, Jordan, Pacific Oceania, Saudi Arabia, Vietnam and Sri Lanka.

The draw for the tie will be held in the morning on Tuesday (25) at the SLTA headquarters.