Army women capture Sky T10 cricket championship | Sunday Observer

Army women capture Sky T10 cricket championship

23 July, 2023
The champion Army women’s team comprising Janadi Anali, Sugandika Pathirana, Hashini Indrajith, Lihini Kaushalya, Shyama Ranasinghe, Sachintha Sanchanayake, Nilusha Fernando, Kalani Yapa, Malithi Tharundi, Nadeeka Premasiri , Devni Ferdinando, Saduni Kaushalya, Dinesha Navamini, Maureen Sewmini and Hashini Apeksha

Army women won the Link Natural/Sky T10 Women’s Cricket League by beating Sky Cricket Club in the championship final at the Olympic Sky Cricket Club, Horana.

Eight teams contested the tournament that was launched at Swastha by Link Natural at Colombo 7 and the tournament was held over four days providing the players a platform to showcase their skills and passion in an environment where they have little or no opportunities to look forward to a future.

Nittambuwa Ladies, Colombo Colts, Moolai Victory, Old Anulians, Ratnawali and Samudra were the other six teams that took part.

Link Natural also presented the participating girls with what they called a Wellness Pack that included the health drink Samahan.

“We organized this event with the aim of empowering women through cricket and to discover hidden talents of female cricketers across Sri Lanka,” said Ruchini Liyanage the manager of Sky Cricket.

Brand Manager of Link Natural, Sanodi Rajapakse, said they will not hesitate to support the health and wellbeing of people as well as events like cricket that helps talented players to take forward their careers.