Sri Lanka youth on show at Colombo Davis Cup tennis | Sunday Observer

Sri Lanka youth on show at Colombo Davis Cup tennis

9 July, 2023

Eight countries will be featured in the Asia/Oceania Group III Davis Cup tie that will be held in Sri Lanka from July 25 to 29.

The tournament will be played on clay courts at the Sri Lanka Tennis Association (SLTA) at Sir Marcus Fernando Mawatha in Colombo over five days.

Sri Lanka will field a young but experienced team of six members. The team is led by non playing captain Renouk Wijemanne with the other members being Chathurya Nilaweera and Thehan Wijemanne who have had experience playing in the Davis Cup.

The other members of the team are Ashen Silva, Dhilvan Herath and Apna Perera who will be closely watched with the future in mind.

The main aim of the Sri Lanka team is to finish among the top three and secure a spot in group II of the Davis Cup. The top three teams will be promoted to group II while the bottom two teams from Group II will be demoted to group III.

The eight countries from the Asia/Oceania region that will participate are Cambodia, Iran, Malaysia, Jordan, Pacific Oceania, Saudi Arabia, Vietnam and Sri Lanka.


Sri Lanka: Renouk Wijemanne (capt.), Chathurya Nilaweera, Ashen Silva, Thehan Sanjaya Wijemanne, Dhilvan Herath, Apna Perera.

Cambodia: Poeuv Chea (capt.), Samneang Long, Timothy Tep, Sarinreach Leng, Ponlok Khleang.

Iran: Mohammed-Reza Tavakoli (capt.), Sina Moghimi, Samyar Elyasi, Ali Yazadani, Amir Hossein Badi, Hamidreza Nadaf.

Jordan: Ahmad Alhadid (capt.), Mousa Alkotop, Karam Hatamleh, Mohammad Alkotop, Seif Adas, Zaid Al-Mashini.

Malaysia: Muliyadi Jamal (capt.), Mitsuki Wei Kang Leong, Hao Sheng Koay, Naufal Siddiq Kamaruzzaman, Christian Didier Chin, Darrshan Suresh Kumar.

Pacific Oceania: Aymeric Mara (capt.), Colin Sinclair, Gillian Osmont, Clement Mainguy, Matavao Fanguna, Aymeric Mara.

Saudi Arabia: Zaki Abdullah (capt.), Ammar Faleh Alhogbani, Saud Alhogbani, Omar Ahmed, Abdullah Alfaraj.

Vietnam: Quoc- Bao Trung (capt.), Minh Tuan Pham, Ha Minh Duc Vu, Dac Tien Nguyen, Phuong Van Nguyen.