Wesley boys given parental blessings at jersey launch | Sunday Observer

Wesley boys given parental blessings at jersey launch

11 June, 2023
Mother knows best! Wesley College rugby captain Kaveesh Jaymon gets his new rugby jersey from his doting mother Shamila (Pic by Malan Karunaratne)

As many as 44 of Wesley College’s hopeful rugby players were presented with a new jersey each at a ceremony held at their College Hall on Friday (9) evening.

Captained by Kaveesh Jaymon the Wesley rugby team is being groomed to tackle their best opponents to the best of their ability.

They are all out to perform well as they have been told to play with a heart and soul and dish out their best effort in every game.

Navin de Silva the president of the Old Boys Union gave the best advice during his speech calling on the players to perform with a heart as he did during their days at school.

“You are fortunate to get all the facilities through many sponsors who have come forward.

“Don’t ever compare what the other schools have got. You are lucky to get whatever that is needed. Give off your best efforts during the games. Enjoy the game with the other players and encourage them,” advised De Silva.

Maj. Gen. Indu Samarakoon who is a past Wesley player of 1986 and ‘87 was the chief guest at the occasion.

He told the players to maintain discipline and try their best to excel at every match.

Wesley will be celebrating 150 years next year and have completed 66 years in rugby and their team moves out with promise after ending as Knockout championship runners-up in 2022 to St. Joseph’s College.

They begin the season with their first game against S. Thomas’ next Saturday (17).

Wesley College squad:

Props; Kaveesh Jaymon (captain), Saabith Musheen, Nelith Hapugalla, Muad Suhail, Rayhan Sallay, Ashen Nesaka

Hookers; Abdulla Siddeek, Thalha Anas, Pawan Thiranagama, Naheel Jayah

Locks; Wahid Hossen, Sanruk Gamage, Hamdan Shafraz, Naham Hemachandra, Aathim Fazley, Hashim Thabith, Hamdan Ziyan

Flankers; Shem Mendis, Chamod Nimsara, Sandul Gammanpila, Yousuf Fazley, Shaheer Hassim, Kesara Rahul, Nilthara Mendis

No 8; Chamod Nimsara, Thalha Anas

Scrum halves; Suhaib Nizam, Adeeb Yooseph, Mohammed Fawaz, Kaizer Lye, Rehan Sahid

Fly halves; Darrian de Zilva, Senura Nisal, Shamry Fayeek

Centres; Aron Corera, Nithila Rodrigo, Dillon de Zilva, Danush Dassanayake

Wingers; Mahathir Raban, Matheesha Silva, Kaveesha Dilhara, Jazeel Zuhuri

Full backs; Abdul Hadee, Senura Nisal