Over 1000 boys and girls to contest swimming championship | Sunday Observer

Over 1000 boys and girls to contest swimming championship

21 May, 2023
From left: Nilupul de Silva, General Manager - Marketing of CBL Foods International; Prof: Upul Subasinghe –Act. Vice Chancellor, University of Sri Jayewardenepura; Senior Prof. Pradeep Jayaweera, Co-Chairman Sports Advisory Board, Dean – Faculty of Urban and Aquatic Bioresources, University of Sri Jayewardenepura

Over 1000 swimmers from over 300 schools and swimming clubs are expected to take part in the Vidudaya Ritzbury Swimming Championship 2023 to be held at the Sri Jayewardenepura University Swimming Pool Complex on May 26 and 27.

This event is organized and conducted by the Department of Physical Education, University of Sri Jayewardenepura and will cater to swimmers in the age categories of under-10, 12, 14, 16 and 18 for boys and girls.

The top three boy and girl winners will be awarded with medals and certificates in recognition of their hard work. They also have the opportunity to take home the overall championship award.

Ceylon Biscuits Limited (CBL) also announced that it will serve as the sole sponsor for the upcoming Swimming Championship 2023. This was revealed at the media briefing held at the Senate Board Room of the University of Sri Jayewardenepura on Tuesday (16).

“Nurturing the values of the sportsmanship among youth of Sri Lanka has been a significant focus for Ritzbury and we have continued to build this through various initiatives throughout the years.

“We are honoured and privileged to partner with the University of Sri Jayewardenepura for the third time,” said Nilupul de Silva, General Manager, Marketing of CBL Food International. “Sponsorships such as these from socially responsible entities within the corporate sector play a great role in making such sporting events happen. We are no stranger to the support extended by Ritzbury to make this event a success,” said Nishanthi Widanage, Director of the Department of Physical Education of University of Sri Jayewardenepura.