Kandy Sports Round up | Sunday Observer

Kandy Sports Round up

2 April, 2023

Junior hockey Nationals

Kandy HA and Wennapuwa HA teams emerged joint champions in the 43rd men’s event while in the second women’s event Sri Lanka Schools ‘A’ became champions at the Sri Lanka junior Under-21 hockey national championships held in Kandy last week.

The men’s event ended without the final being played due to rain.

This tournament saw 13 men’s teams and eight women’s teams in action in this four day event.

Battle of the Maroons drawn

The 116th Battle of the Maroons between Dharmaraja College and Kingswood College played for the TB Tennakoon Trophy ended in a draw at the Pallekelle International Stadium.

The 33rd annual one day encounter between Dharmaraja College and Kingswood College will be played on April 9 at the same venue.

Cricketer Muthalib no more

Former Antonian cricketer HM Muthalib passed away and his Janaza took place in Kandy at Mawilmada.

He played for St. Anthony’s College from 1958 to 1961 and ended up as the captain. He was a good opening batsman and a talented coach having helped many cricketers to do well. He was involved in coaching for over 25 years. He coached both St. Anthony’s College and Trinity College.

Cricket equipment for schools

Kandy District Cricket Association (KDCA) with the backing of Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) presented cricket equipment to some 40 schools on Friday.

Fifteen matting strips were also presented at the event held at the Pallekelle International Stadium with the participation of Ravin Wickremaratne from SLC and KDCA president Tissa Jayasinghe and Secretary Janaka Pathirane.

Kandy CC finish runners-up

Kandy CC lost to Kalutara Physical Culture Club (PCC) in the final of the SLC Invitational under-23 tournament played last Sunday (26).

Scores: Kandy CC: 199 for 9 in (50) (Kavishka Medagedara 50, Imesh Kumara 36, Khanka Wickramasinghe 31, Malith Lakshan 21, Thadula de Silva 2 for 36, Kalana Sandeep 2 for 36, Vishwa Didulana 2 for 45)

Kalutara PCC: 202 for 8 in (49.1) (Dayaratna 74, Thewin Amarasinghe 29, Thenuka Liyanage 28, Dinuka Tennakoon 3/32, Khanka Wickremasinghe 2/46)