Netball factions come together ending backstabbing saga, claims head | Sunday Observer

Netball factions come together ending backstabbing saga, claims head

24 November, 2019
Lakshmi Victoria
Lakshmi Victoria

The Sri Lanka Netball Federation has announced its calendar of events and plans for the development of the game after settling factional scores and squabbling among members.

The junior Nationals will be held from November 30 to December 2 at Torrington ground and the senior Nationals to be held on December 14 and 15 in Anuradhapura.

“All the past veteran netball players have joined hands to end the two party battle and develop the sport in Sri Lanka,” said Lakshmi Victoria, President of the Sri Lanka Netball Federation (SLNF). She made the declaration at a Press conference held at the Sri Lanka Sports Medicine Institute on Friday.

“After being elected as the president I submitted the proposal for the development program at the Council meeting and every member agreed to the proposal.

This program will give an opportunity for all veteran players to get involved in the development process,” claimed Victoria.

“With my previous experience I can easily work with others. I don’t have any enemies and the administrators should work selflessly to achieve a better tomorrow in netball,” she further added. She said that current coach Thilaka Jinadasa will continue with her work with the aim of raising the standard of the team that took a beating in recent times.“We have short and long term plans and with a good support staff we can reach the top level in the sport,” said Victoria.

Victoria also revealed that the SLNF has appointed former president Yasa Ramachandra as a consultant and along with the senior players will form the Development Committee. Former Sri Lanka captain Deepthi Alwis was appointed chairperson of the Committee.

Former president Olivia Gamage was appointed as chairperson of the Advisory Committee to the coach while Hycinth Wijeyasinghe and Yamuna Sandamali are also included in this Committee. Yasmin Dharmaratne was appointed as chairperson of the Referees Committee.