Football Exco dissatisfied with selections | Sunday Observer

Football Exco dissatisfied with selections

12 May, 2019

Most of the executive members (EXCO) of the Football Federation of Sri Lanka (FFSL) were not satisfied with the selection of a pool of 31 players in preparation for the upcoming FIFA World Cup Qatar 2022 and AFC Asian Cup 2023 Preliminary joint qualification Round One against Macau.

Some members of the EXCO had voiced their dissatisfaction on the players in the pool during the meeting.

According to an official of the Federation, the Exco members had said that some of these players were not up to standard and do not have the experience to face international teams.

In addition to the 31 member pool the FFSL had called up another 22 players to the pool including four members of the Under-23 team that participated in the recent 2020 AFC championship qualifiers.

They are Shabeer Razooniya, Rasik Rishad, Pathum Vimukthi and Sundaraj Niresh.

The pool also includes seven players who have not played in the Champions League tournament.

They are Mohamed Mushtaq (New Star), Mohamed Ijaz and Mohamed Waseeth (Army), Abdul Rahuman Issadeen (Prisons), Sidathurai Sahayaraja Ruche (St. Lucia’s), Sebasthiyampillai Jesuthasan (Air Force) and Hamilton Marvin representing Eastbourne Borough FC in England.

Several questions were also raised regarding the players who were called up again after being omitted from the AFC U-23 squad.

They are Dilip Pieris, Naveen Jude and Mohamed Aakib, all of whom proved their proficiency in attack during the past season.

The selection committee comprises former head coach Piyadasa Perera (Chairman), Asoka Ravindra, Mohamed Zakir, Yoga Cruz and Nalin Silva.

According to the official the selection committee is appointed by the Ministry of Sports on recommendations made by the FFSL.

According to the FFSL, these players were selected according to their talent and also with the intention to give an opportunity to the youngsters as well.

The pool is mixed with senior and young players.