‘DSI’ Super Sport Schools VB Champioship - 2017 | Sunday Observer

‘DSI’ Super Sport Schools VB Champioship - 2017

29 October, 2017

Mahela Indeewara Bandara of Dammissara MMV, Nattandiya and H.P. Nimeshika Sewwandi of Galigamuwa MMV were declared as the Best Players in the Boy and Girls categories at the ‘DSI’ Super Sports All Island Schools Volleyball Championships which was concluded on Tuesday at the National Youth Council Sports Complex in Maharagama.

Most of the schools from far away districts such as Trincomalee, Ampara and Hungama areas that participated at the Championships displayed their talents in no uncertain terms carried away trophies in different age groups.

Dammmissara MMV Nattandiya and Galigamuwa MMV won the main Trophies for Boys and Girls respectively winning the under 19 titles.

Rajasinghe MMV Ruwanwella in the final of the under 19 match went down to Dammmissara MMV after a hectic battle which went on for the full length of five sets. In the boys category St Xavier’s spikers won the under 13, 15 and 17 age of groups and carried away the trophies beating Rajasinghe MMV in under 13, 15 and also the under 17 beating Vijayaba National School respectively. In the Girls under 19 final Galigamuwa MMV outplayed their opponents Vijayaba National School, Hungama in straight sets (25-17, 25-11, 25-15) to carry away the trophy. In Previous years too, the girls from Hungama have proved their might entering the final on many occasions.

In the girls under 13 and 15 it was the girls of Tissapura Vidyalaya Ampara, who came up a high performance to beat Royal Vidyaloka National School and Vijayaba National School.

Final Results:

Girls under 13: Uhana Tissapura Vidyalaya, Ampara beat Royal Vidyaloka National School (21-12, 21–13)

Girls under 15: Uhana Tissapura Vidyalaya, Ampara beat Vijayaba National School (21-16, 26-24, 25-20)

Girls under 17: Galigamuwa MMV beat Sri Ratanapala MV, Anamaduwa (25-26,25-23, 25-17)

Girls under 19: Galigamuwa MMV beat Vijayaba National School, Hungama (25-17, 25-11, 25-15)

Boys under 13: St. Xavier’s College, Marawila beat Rajasinghe MMV, Ruwanwella (22-20, 24-22)

Boys under 15: St. Xavier’s College Marawila beat Rajasinghe MMV, Ruwanwella (19-25, 25-19, 25-23, 25-13)

Boys under 17: St. Xavier’s College Marawila beat Vijayaba National School, Hungama (25-17, 25-21, 25-13)

Boys under 19: Dammissara MMV, Nattandiya beat Rajasinghe MMV, Ruwanwella (21-25, 25-18, 19-25, 28-26, 15-9)

Special Awards:

Girls under 13 –

Best Setter - E.J.A.P. Sanduni Rajasinghe MMV (Ruwanwella), Best Spiker B.G. Senuri Tharushika (Uhana Tissapura National School), Best Player H.M. Chathuri Purnima, Uhana Tissapura NS, Ampara)

15 Girls under –

Best Setter - Thivanthi Madumali, (Tissapura Vidyalaya, Ampara), Best Spiker - Sureka Dilshani, (Vijayaba National School, Hungama) Best Player - Amandi Bhagya, (Uhana Tissapura National School)

Girls under 17 –

Best Setter - Roshani Pramodi Seneviratne, (Galigomuwa MMV), Best Spiker - Rashmi Diyanjali Lakmali, (Galigomuwa MMV), Best Player - Dilukshi Senaratne (GaligomuwaMMV)

Girls under 19 -

Best Setter - Sumitha Priyadharshani (Galigomuwa), Best Spiker - H.G.Sakira Lakvani (Vijayaba National School), Best Player - Sachini Ruwanthika Galigomuwa MMV)

Most Outstanding Player of the Tournament - H.P. Nimeshika Sewwandi (Galigomuwa MMV)

Boys under 13 -

Best Setter - Dimeth Chamuditha, (St. Xavier’s College Marawila), Best Spiker - Nimsara Athukorale, (Rajasinghe MMV Ruwanwella), Best Player - W. O. Samith Madushan, (St. Xavier’s College)

Boys under 15 -

Best Setter - M.G. Kavinda Udayanga, St. Xavier’s College) Best Spiker N.G. Kavishka Madushanka, (Rajasinghe MMV), Best Player - M.A. Hirusha Ganidu Lakshan, (St Xavier’s College)

Boys under 17 -

Best Setter - Navodya Kaushal (St. Xavier’s College), Best Spiker B.W. Samith Shanuka, (St. Xaviers College),

Best Player U.N. Milinda Nirmal, (St. Xaviers College) Boys under 19 Best Setter - D. L. Teeshan Shanuka (Damissara MMV), Best Spiker -

Nuwan Dilshan, (Damissara MMV), Best Player - Sanka Jayaratne,(Rajasinghe MMV)

Most outstanding Player of the Tournament - Mahela Indeewara Bandara (Dammissara MMV, Nattandiya)