3 September, 2017

The picturesque Pannala Race Track will come alive once again on 09th September 2017, when the Asian Motor Racing Club (AMRC) in association with the Sri Lanka Racing Drivers and Riders (SLARDAR) conduct the circuit meet.

The Pannala Circuit is the only track built in the island for this purpose and this year the meet will be held as a day night meet for the first time in Sri Lanka. The day’s proceedings are to commence at 3.00 p.m. and scheduled to close at 10.p.m.

This meet will also be the final segment of the ‘National Super Series 2017’. The organizers have planned to run 10 Car events and 10 Motor Cycle events on this day along with three Formula car events. The Formula car categories will be 1300cc EFI race 1 and 2 and Ford Formula 1600cc cars will have one race. The Championships events for cars to be worked off are the classes in SL-GT cars up to 3500cc, Ford Laser/Mazda 1300cc and SL-H -cars up to 1600cc. this year the Group T&J Trucks and Jeep events are not scheduled to run. All leading Drivers and Riders have already forwarded their entries and with all of them in the fray on this track, all will try to showcase their skills to the large crowds expected to witness this first ever day night meet.

The Asian Rally champion Gaurav Gill is expected to participate in the SL-GT 3500cc class which is the fastest race here in our local track. His participation is sure to be a challenge to local drivers in the caliber of Ashan Silva, Pasindu Piris, Janaka Dias, Irshaq Wahab and the young driver Kushan Peiris.

At present Ashan Silva is placed right on top of the standing in this class to be the Champion in the Super Series 2017. In addition to the challenge from Indian driver Gaurav he will face stiff opposition Kushan Peiris, Janka Dias and Aravida Premadasa. The leader in the Group SLH Cars up to 1600cc Zakir Wahab stands on top of the table with a slender lead of just a single point ahead of Kushan Peiris. A strong competition can be expected for supremacy in this class and both these drivers are sure to come up with their best which can be classed as thrilling affair. Kushan Peiris who has already confirmed his participation in the Ford Laser/Mazda 1300cc class with the highest number of points will go flat out to make it a double on this day.

In the Formula EFI up to 1300cc category the Super Series Championship table leader is Andrew Choksy. He too is expected drive his vehicle with the aim of maintaining his top spot to grab the title.

In the two wheeler category Shiran Samuel is holding on to the top position with Pramuka Sesath following him as the second. Here too the battle could be an exciting one for all to watch.

Ishan Dassanayake the champion Supercross Rider who recorded many championships this year in the Supercross meets leads in the open event for motor Cycles. He is expected to come up with his best riding skills to tighten the grip on the Super Series Championship 2017.

Meanwhile the Super Motard category will see Imal Manchanayake the leader in the 500cc Class Motor Cycles standings fight to keep his title chances alive by winning here on this day.

All these are expected materialize on the 1.07 km track which covers an area of 15 acres. The spectators are capable of witnessing these races without any fear for their safety as the organizers have made arrangements to locate spectators in safe areas where they could witness the races in comfort.

Who is Gaurav Gill ?

Racing heroes of Sri Lanka will be be up against Gaurav Gill, the first Indian to win the FIA Asia-Pacific Rally Championships in 2013 who has dominated the event since, securing first or second places in the dozen or so races he has competed.

Born on 02nd December 1981, Gaurav got into motorsport, racing motor cycles and competed in the National Motocross Championship in 1999. He moved to 4-wheel racing and started competing in car rallies, endurance races and signed up for the Raid-de-Himalaya in 2000. He was runner-up in the National Road Racing Championship in 2003 and won the title in the following year. He finished the 2006 season, second overall. In 2007, Gaurav won the National Rally Championship with Team MRF and made his debut at the Asia Pacific Rally Championship. He finished runner up in the APRC in 2013 and became the first Indian to win the title in 2014.

With the participation of the crème de la crème of Sri Lanka’s racing, the Organizers are confident that their joint efforts will culminate in a phenomenal experience for both, participants and viewers alike