President opens Parliament today | Page 3 | Sunday Observer

President opens Parliament today

8 February, 2023

The Fourth Session of the Ninth Parliament will be ceremonially declared open today by President Ranil Wickremesinghe.

Following the ceremonial opening of the session, President Ranil Wickremesinghe is scheduled to present the Statement of Government Policy in Parliament at 10 am according to the powers vested in him under Article 33 of the Constitution.

Given the instructions of the President, arrangements have been made to hold the ceremonial opening of the fourth session as a formal ceremony without gun salutes and motorcades, Serjeant-at-Arms Narendra Fernando said.

He said that the invited guests have been told to take their seats by 9.15 am on 8.2.2023.

Following the arrival of the Speaker Mahinda Yapa Abeywardana and his wife, Prime Minister Dinesh Gunawardena will arrive, followed by the arrival of President Ranil Wickremesinghe and the first lady.

Speaker Mahinda Yapa Abeywardana and Parliament Secretary General Dhammika Dasanayake will receive the President near the main steps of the Parliament building.

Followed by the said, the Speaker and the Secretary General of the Parliament led by the Serjeant at Arms, Deputy Serjeant-at-Arms and Assistant Serjeant-at-Arms will escort the President to the Parliament.

After the President presents the Statement of Government Policy, the House will be adjourned until 9.30 am on 9.2.2023. Following adjournment, a tea party has been organized for the invited guests including diplomats.

Foreign Diplomats, former Presidents, Chief Justice, Supreme Court Judges, Attorney General, Secretary of Defence, commanders of the three-armed forces and the Inspector General have been invited for the ceremonial opening of the Fourth Session of the Ninth Parliament, Narendra Fernando, Serjeant at Arms, said. He also said that invitations have been sent electronically for this event.