Masters badminton minus overseas players | Sunday Observer

Masters badminton minus overseas players

9 June, 2019

Many former shuttlers will be in line to participate in the Senior Badminton Championship that will be conducted for the second time at the Sugathadasa Indoor Stadium on June 29 and 30.

Ceylon Masters Badminton Association will conduct this tournament but unlike last year there will not be any foreign participants. However, foreigners with resident visas are expected to enter to ensure more glamour to the championship.

The events will be worked out in four age categories in 35+, 40+, 45+, 50+, 55+, 60+, 65+ & 70+ for Men and Women singles, doubles and mixed doubles. There are also Combined Age Group events.

Close to 300 entries are expected from all over the country and will close on June 14.

Some of the famous old stars likely to enter are Niroshan Wijekoon, Duminda Jayakody, Upendra Jayawardane, Chandrika de Silva and Ranjani Seneviratne.

The Championship offers handsome cash prizes amounting to Rs.1 million to be given away to the winners and runners-up along with gold, silver and bronze medals while all participants will receive certificates of participation according to the organisers.

Participants can register via the official tournament web site,

The on-line entry page will cease immediately on the closing date at 12:59 p.m. Entries can also be handed over to CMB Head Office, located at 284, Vauxhall Street, Colombo 2. Entry fee for the first event per person will be Rs. 2,500 while Rs. 500 will be charged for each additional entry by the same person. Each person can enter up to three events.